Pesto Zucchini Noodles with Cherry Tomatoes, Artichokes & Shrimp

zucchini noodlesFor the most part, I like to think I demonstrate a healthy measure of self-control. For instance, I’ve learned to avoid getting groceries while ravenous and that shopping for a new wardrobe after consuming a few cocktails is not always the brightest idea (although that leather jacket really does go with everything).

But catch me in the checkout aisles of a certain department store where the latest “As Seen On TV” culinary tools and toys are displayed, and I’m put to the test. I mean, who can honestly resist a vegetable spiralizer named The Veggetti?

Trying desperately to avoid all eye contact with this spectacular device, I tell myself not to give it any attention. I start to feel myself breaking a sweat as I creep further away from the spiralizer and move a whole inch and a quarter closer to the till. You’re almost there, don’t look back now!

I’m nearly at home plate when my enabler best friend starts chanting, “Veggetti, Veggetti, Veggetti..” Before I know it, we are driving home chanting this mantra in unison with The Veggetti in arms. I assure myself it’s for my blog; a smart investment.

While I can’t pledge for every “As Seen On TV” purchase I’ve made, I have to admit that I’ve got a lot of use out of my spiralizer. Whatever brand you chose or already have, this tool is a great way to create veggie noodles as a healthy alternative to dried, store-bought pasta.

zucchini noodles

So would I define this act of impulsive buying as a proactive contributor to self-controlled, healthy eating? Absolutely.

Ingredients
6 large zucchini
1 small onion, diced
1 14fl oz (398 ml) can of artichoke quarters, strained
1 pint of cherry tomatoes
1 bag (approx. 800g) of uncooked, deveined shrimp
Jar of preferred Pesto sauce (or see my homemade recipe below)
1 teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt to taste

Directions
1. Begin by spiralling the zucchinis into long noodles. Place noodles on a flat surface lined with paper towel and sprinkle with salt. The salt will allow the noodles to sweat out any unwanted moisture. Allow noodles to sweat for up to an hour. Pat out any additional moisture. You can also do this the night before and refrigerate.
2. Sauté the diced onion at a medium heat with a little olive oil until the onion turns more clear in appearance.
3. Add the deveined, raw shrimp and cook until pink and cooked through. Remove shrimp from the pan and set aside.
4. Add the noodles, artichokes, cherry tomatoes and a desired amount of pesto sauce to the medium-warm pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes, tossing gently until the noodles become tender. You want the noodles to remain crisp and not to fall apart.
5. Serve in a large pasta bowl, adding in the shrimp. Garnish with your favourite cheese, goatcheese or fresh basil.

Link to Milk & Marigold’s Homemade Pesto…

http://milkandmarigolds.com/2014/02/22/arugula-pistachio-roasted-garlic-pesto/

Milk & Marigolds Says…
The more time you take to sweat out the zucchini noodles, the better the result. Not taking the time will result in an unpleasantly watery pasta. Not a fan of zucchini? Substitute with carrots!

Milk & Marigolds © Copyright 2015

3 thoughts on “Pesto Zucchini Noodles with Cherry Tomatoes, Artichokes & Shrimp

Leave a comment